What's on?

We host virtual events for E-DLD members and professionals.

Past events

Take a look at the events we've hosted in the past.

Sleep and DLD Research

Thursday 14th July 2022 at 2pm UK time (9am Eastern US time)

We will be holding an event looking at sleep and DLD research. We will be joined by Dr Lisa Henderson, University of York. There will be an opportunity to ask questions at the end.

Past events and recordings for E-DLD members:

About The DLD Project

Wednesday 11th May 2022 at 10am UK time (5pm AWST/ 7pm AEST)

 

To celebrate our collaboration with The DLD Project, we were joined by The DLD Project co-founder Shaun Ziegenfusz. We talked about what The DLD Project is, why it was set up and future hopes for the field of DLD.. There was an opportunity to ask questions.

About DLDandMe

Monday 21st March 2022 at 7pm UK time (3pm EST)

We launched a collaboration with DLDandMe! To celebrate, we were joined by DLDandMe co-founders Dr Sean Redmond and Dr Karla McGregor. They talked about what DLDandMe is and why it was set up. There was an opportunity to ask questions.

Q&A with the E-DLD team

Thursday 20th January 2022 at 9am and 1pm GMT

The E-DLD held a Q&A, alongside Dr Lisa Archibald, Western University. We answered your pre-submitted questions on a range of topics related to DLD, such as bilingualism and how to help your child. This event was open to everyone.

Adult Outcomes for Individuals with DLD

Friday, December 10th at 1pm GMT (Greenwich Mean Time)

E-DLD co-founder Professor Nicola Botting talked about research into adult outcomes for individuals with Developmental Language Disorder (DLD). The talk focused on language, cognition and literacy as well as wellbeing and lifestyle. This event was open for everyone, with an opportunity to ask questions at the end.

Meet other E-DLD members!

Friday, October 15th, at 9am, 1pm and 7pm BST

On DLD awareness day, we hosted three online Zoom sessions for E-DLD families, parents and adults. These events were an opportunity to network and socialise with other E-DLD members and to share experiences with one other. To match the theme of DLD awareness day 2021, members spoke about their experiences of the schooling system and teaching in relation to DLD.

Social and emotional difficulties in young people with DLD

Wednesday, September 15th, 7-8pm BST

This was an opportunity to hear Dr Umar Toseeb talk about the research evidence behind the social and emotional development of young people with DLD. This was an online event hosted by one of E-DLD’s co-founders, Dr Jenny Gibson. Dr Toseeb also discussed what this research means for families, and answered your questions. 

Q&A with E-DLD founders

Thursday, July 15th, 7-8pm GMT

This was an opportunity to ask any questions about DLD and get answers from three expert researchers into DLD. The E-DLD founders - Dr Michelle St Clair, Dr Jenny Gibson and Professor Nicola Botting - answered your questions, based on their knowledge of the scientific literature.  We also answered questions about the Engage with DLD project itself!

This was an opportunity to get to know other members. We shared research about reading skills. Families shared experiences and tips on making reading easier & more enjoyable.

DLD and book reading

Wednesday, February 17th, 7pm

books.jpg

Past events for professionals:

Engage with DLD: Let's work together

Evening: Monday 29th March, 18.00 - 18.45pm

Lunchtime: Tuesday 30th March, 12.00 - 12.45pm

This was an event for Speech and Language Therapists, researchers and specialist Speech Language & Communication Needs teachers around the world. This was an opportunity to find out how to collaborate with E-DLD to inform and empower families affected by DLD.

pexels-anna-shvets-4226140.jpg